Best CPC/CPSIA Testing Services

United States · CPC/CPSIA testing for children’s products · Reviewed August 25, 2026.

The short version

The best CPSIA testing services are not the laboratories with the most familiar names. The right choice is a CPSC-accepted laboratory whose active scope covers every rule triggered by your product. CPSC acceptance is test-specific: a laboratory listed for one children’s product safety rule is not automatically accepted for another.

Five established providers passed this review because each publishes an official US children’s-product testing service and also appears in CPSC Lab Search. Intertek is the only one of the five that publishes a narrow turnaround claim for its North America toy-testing center. QIMA publishes named CPSC lab codes and detailed US toy-testing coverage. SGS combines testing with tailored compliance and training programs. UL Solutions documents broad toy-safety evaluations and ASTM F963 testing. Bureau Veritas documents CPSIA, mechanical, chemical, flammability and hardlines testing.

None publishes a fixed CPSIA project price on the reviewed pages. Ask for an itemized quote tied to the exact rules, materials, components and sample count.

JurisdictionUnited StatesFederal scope

Quick verdict

DOCUMENTED US TURNAROUND

Intertek

Best evidenced fit when a North America toy-testing center matters. Intertek publishes a 3–5 business day turnaround for that center, not as a universal promise for every CPSIA project.

TRACEABLE LAB CODES

QIMA

Best evidenced fit for sellers who want unusually clear public documentation: QIMA publishes US toy-test coverage and three CPSC lab codes for US, Hong Kong and Hangzhou facilities.

PROGRAM + TRAINING

SGS

Best evidenced fit when testing sits inside a broader compliance program. SGS documents tailored CPSIA programs, children’s-product testing and supply-chain training.

TOY-SAFETY DEPTH

UL Solutions

Best evidenced fit for a toy program needing age grading, design review, chemical or toxicological work, label evaluation and ASTM F963 testing.

HARDLINES NETWORK

Bureau Veritas

Best evidenced fit for mixed hardlines catalogs that include toys, juvenile products, furniture, sports goods or electronics and need several safety disciplines.

Choose the test scope before the laboratory

A Children’s Product Certificate is required for a children’s product that is subject to one or more children’s product safety rules. The domestic manufacturer or importer issues the CPC from passing results produced by a third-party CPSC-accepted laboratory. The laboratory provides testing and results; it does not issue the CPC.

That sequence matters. Buying a generic “CPSIA package” before identifying the applicable rules can produce an incomplete report or unnecessary tests. Start with the product, intended age, materials, accessible components, use pattern and applicable standards. Then compare laboratories against that exact scope.

Use CPSC’s terminology. CPSC accepts a laboratory’s accreditation for specific tests. It does not “approve” a laboratory or grant blanket acceptance for every children’s product safety rule.

If a marketplace request brought you here, first separate its document workflow from federal certification. XrdaGrid’s live guides explain a TikTok Shop CPC and test-report request and a Walmart CPC or test-report rejection.

CPC/CPSIA testing service comparison

Provider Strongest documented fit Official service evidence CPSC Lab Search check Public price Published turnaround
Intertek CPSIA assessment, eFiling support, training and North America toy testing CPSIA solutions; safety and chemical testing Active search records found; example lab 1040, Arlington Heights, Illinois Quote only 3–5 business days for the North America toy-testing center
QIMA Detailed US toy scope, CPC data support and traceable lab codes Lead, phthalates, ASTM F963, small-parts and product-specific testing Lab codes 1199 US, 1322 Hong Kong and 1195 Hangzhou published by QIMA; records found Quote only Not stated
SGS Tailored CPSIA testing programs and supply-chain training Children’s-product testing, consultancy and training Active SGS-branded records found; check accepted scope by facility Quote only Not stated
UL Solutions Toy-safety programs, age grading, label evaluation and ASTM F963 Mechanical, chemical, toxicological and design-related toy testing UL VS records found; examples include labs 1005 Hong Kong and 1008 Shanghai Quote only Not stated
Bureau Veritas Toys and juvenile products within a wider hardlines testing network CPSIA, ASTM F963, chemical, mechanical, flammability and electrical testing Active branded records found; examples include labs 1169 Germany and 1076 Vietnam Quote only Not stated

How to read the table: A brand-level Lab Search result does not prove that every facility can perform every test. Open the individual record and match each applicable rule to the facility named on your quote. “Not stated” means the reviewed official page did not publish the information.

Provider profiles

CPSIA PROGRAMS · NORTH AMERICA

Intertek

Intertek’s official CPSIA page documents product assessment, guidance, education, electronic filing support and XRF screening. Its separate North America toy-testing page covers US CPSIA safety testing and chemical testing and publishes a 3–5 business day turnaround for that specific center.

The narrow wording is important. It is evidence for the named North America center, not a promise for every product, rule, laboratory or failed-sample retest. Ask the quoting facility to put its scope, sample count and turnaround in writing.

Best fit: sellers who want a large testing network plus a documented North America toy-testing route.

Review Intertek’s official CPSIA services

US TOY SCOPE · PUBLISHED LAB CODES

QIMA

QIMA’s toy-testing page lists US coverage for lead in coatings and substrates, phthalates, tracking labels, mechanical hazards, small parts, rattles, pacifiers and ASTM F963 testing. It also documents CPC-data and eFiling support.

Its accreditation page publishes three CPSC lab codes: 1199 for QIMA US, 1322 for QIMA Testing Hong Kong and 1195 for QIMA Hangzhou. That makes the initial registry check unusually traceable, but the individual record still controls which rules each lab can test.

Best fit: sellers who value public rule lists, named lab codes and facilities near US or Asian supply chains.

Review QIMA’s official toy-testing services

TAILORED PROGRAMS · TRAINING

SGS

SGS documents US CPSIA testing for children’s products and describes a tailored program based on the client’s needs and applicable safety rules. Its published scope also includes consultancy and training for staff, contractors and suppliers.

The reviewed page does not publish a fixed price or turnaround. The official CPSC search returns SGS-branded facilities in several countries, but the quote should identify the exact facility and applicable accepted rules.

Best fit: companies that need testing combined with internal or supply-chain education.

Review SGS’s official US CPSIA services

TOY SAFETY · AGE GRADING · LABELS

UL Solutions

UL Solutions documents toy-safety programs that can include age grading, design evaluation, safety and risk assessment, chemical management, toxicological assessment and label evaluation. Its page also lists testing to ASTM F963 and states that UL Solutions is registered with CPSC for CPSIA third-party testing.

CPSC Lab Search returns UL VS facilities in Vietnam, Bangladesh, Hong Kong and Shanghai. Match the quoted UL entity and lab code to the rules your product triggers; a global brand name is not a substitute for the record.

Best fit: toy programs needing more than a basic chemistry panel.

Review UL Solutions’ official toy-safety testing

HARDLINES · MULTIPLE SAFETY DISCIPLINES

Bureau Veritas

Bureau Veritas CPS documents consumer-product testing across chemical, mechanical, flammability and electrical safety and links to a CPSIA certification solution. Its hardlines material specifically includes toys and juvenile products tested for CPSIA and ASTM F963 compliance.

CPSC Lab Search returns Bureau Veritas Consumer Product Services records across several countries. The named facility and rule-level scope should be written into the proposal before samples ship.

Best fit: importers and retailers with mixed toy, juvenile or hardlines portfolios.

Review Bureau Veritas CPS testing services

How to request comparable quotes

Send the same scope pack to each shortlisted laboratory. A usable request contains enough detail to produce an itemized response rather than five numbers based on five different assumptions.

  1. Identify the product: model or SKU, intended age, product photos, packaging and instructions.
  2. Map materials and components: coatings, substrates, plastics, textiles, accessible components, batteries and any existing supplier reports.
  3. List the proposed rules: ask the lab to correct the list and explain every addition or deletion.
  4. Name the testing facility: require its CPSC lab code and the accepted rule scope that supports each test.
  5. Separate costs: testing, sample preparation, shipping, failed-sample investigation, retesting, report revisions and optional CPC-drafting assistance.
  6. Define delivery: sample count, report format, expected date, escalation path and whether timing restarts after a failure.

Do not compare only the total. A lower quote can omit an applicable rule, use fewer samples, exclude shipping or assume that existing component reports are usable. Compare the written scope line by line.

Our price-verification policy explains why quote-only services are reported without invented averages or unsupported ranges.

What a laboratory cannot decide for you

  • Who issues the CPC: the domestic manufacturer or importer remains legally responsible, even when a laboratory helps draft it.
  • Whether a marketplace accepts the upload: marketplace review is separate from laboratory testing and federal certification.
  • Whether every future production run is covered: material or manufacturing changes can affect the testing basis and continued-compliance plan.
  • Whether a different facility’s report is valid: verify the facility and its accepted rule scope, not only the corporate logo.
  • Whether a failed product can be relabeled into compliance: the remedy depends on the failed rule and the product evidence.

How we compared the providers

Criteria were fixed before the provider review: official US children’s-product service evidence, CPSC Lab Search traceability, rule-level scope, sample logistics, public price, documented turnaround, CPC-support boundaries and seller usability.

Only providers with an official service page and a current branded result in CPSC Lab Search were included. CPSC acceptance is not treated as an endorsement, and no result is generalized beyond the facility and rule scope shown in the registry. Provider pages, CPSC guidance and Lab Search were checked on August 25, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Does every children’s product need third-party testing?

No. Third-party testing applies when a children’s product is subject to a children’s product safety rule that requires it. Other testing relief can also apply. The product remains subject to every applicable safety rule.

Does the testing laboratory issue the CPC?

No. The laboratory provides testing services and results. The domestic manufacturer or importer drafts and issues the CPC and remains legally responsible even if a laboratory or consultant helps prepare it.

What does CPSC-accepted mean?

It means CPSC has accepted the laboratory’s accreditation for specific children’s product safety rules. Acceptance is not blanket approval of the company; verify that the active facility record covers the rules used to support the CPC.

What should a CPSIA testing quote contain?

None of the five providers publishes a fixed CPSIA project price on the reviewed pages. Cost depends on applicable rules, materials, components, sample count and optional services. Request itemized quotes built from the same scope.

Can I use a CPSC-accepted laboratory outside the United States?

Yes. CPSC accepts laboratories worldwide. The location does not control validity; the named facility’s active CPSC record and accepted scope for the applicable rules do.

Does XrdaGrid have a commercial relationship with these laboratories?

No. XrdaGrid has no affiliate or referral relationship recorded with the five providers on this page as of August 25, 2026. Their links are ordinary links to official websites.

Related XrdaGrid resources

Sources and review date

Last fact-checked: August 25, 2026.

CPSC sources

Provider sources

XrdaGrid provides general informational content about United States consumer-product testing and certification. This page is not legal or regulatory advice, does not determine which rules apply to a product, does not certify any product or laboratory, and does not guarantee a testing, marketplace or customs outcome.