Best 510(k) Regulatory Services: Compare Scope, Fees, and Fit

Last reviewed August 24, 2026. FDA fees, provider scope and prices can change; confirm the current engagement terms before purchasing.

The short version

The best 510(k) regulatory service is the one that fits your device, evidence gap and internal regulatory capacity. Do not compare quotes until you separate consultant fees, testing costs and the FDA user fee.

JurisdictionUnited StatesFederal scope

Quick answer: Medical Device Academy is the clearest starting point when a small company wants a published preparation price. Emergo by UL is a practical fit for international manufacturers entering the United States. NAMSA and RQM+ are stronger candidates when testing, clinical or laboratory work must be coordinated with the submission. MCRA is worth shortlisting when a complex therapeutic or evidence strategy needs an integrated regulatory team. These are best-fit labels, not clearance rankings.

Quick verdict

Published-price starting point

Medical Device Academy

Its current company page lists an estimated $17,500 for 510(k) preparation and says the FDA user fee and Pre-Submission work are separate.

International market entry

Emergo by UL

A two-step model covering requirements and gap analysis, then compilation, electronic submission and FDA communications.

Testing and clinical integration

NAMSA

Regulatory support sits beside preclinical and clinical capabilities, which can reduce handoffs when evidence generation is the hard part.

Flexible full-program support

RQM+

Offers full-service outsourcing, consulting and embedded staffing across regulatory, quality, clinical, testing and reimbursement work.

Complex specialty strategy

MCRA

Combines regulatory, clinical, reimbursement, quality and specialist disciplines for programs that need more than document assembly.

510(k) regulatory services comparison

Provider Best fit Published scope Public consulting price FDA fee Terms and caveats
Medical Device Academy Small and midsize teams wanting a transparent preparation price eSTAR 510(k) preparation; its pricing sheet says responses to Additional Information requests are included Estimated $17,500 Separate Pre-Submission work is separate; bundled submissions or multiple predicates may cost more; refund terms were not verified on the reviewed public page
Emergo by UL International manufacturers and teams that want a staged gap-analysis process Requirements evaluation, document review, gap analysis, compilation, electronic submission and FDA communications Quote required Emergo says it can coordinate payment; no public statement that the fee is included Closing gaps identified in step one is described as a separate project; refund and cancellation terms were not verified on the reviewed public page
NAMSA Programs requiring regulatory, preclinical or clinical coordination 510(k) preparation, FDA strategy, Pre-Submission support and access to preclinical and clinical teams Quote required Not stated as included on the reviewed public page Confirm the exact deliverables, testing costs, FDA-response support and cancellation terms in the proposal
RQM+ Companies needing a scalable team across regulatory, quality, testing and clinical work 510(k), De Novo and PMA submissions; deficiency responses; labs, clinical, quality and reimbursement support Quote required Not stated as included on the reviewed public page Available as full-service outsourcing, consulting or embedded staffing; confirm which functions are inside the quoted scope
MCRA Complex or specialty devices needing regulatory and evidence strategy Regulatory strategy and submissions integrated with clinical, reimbursement, quality, biocompatibility, statistics, usability and cybersecurity expertise Quote required Not stated as included on the reviewed public page The public page describes broad capabilities rather than a standardized 510(k) package; request a device-specific statement of work

Price note: The $17,500 figure is a provider-published estimate for preparation, not a total program budget. Testing, clinical work, standards purchases, FDA fees, establishment registration and post-clearance work can be separate. A quote is not comparable until those boundaries are explicit.

Start with the free FDA checks

  1. Classify the device. Search FDA’s Product Classification database for the product code, regulation number, device class and exemption status.
  2. Check the exemption limitations. Most Class I and some Class II devices are exempt, but the section .9 limitations in 21 CFR Parts 862–892 can restore the 510(k) requirement.
  3. Check predicates. Search the 510(k) database for legally marketed devices with a defensible intended-use and technology comparison.
  4. Separate clearance from registration and listing. A 510(k) decision does not replace establishment registration, device listing or other post-clearance duties. See FURLS registration and device listing.
  5. Decide whether formal FDA feedback is worth it. A voluntary Pre-Submission can help resolve focused questions before testing or filing, but FDA says it is not a pre-review and does not guarantee a favorable later decision.

For a fuller pathway check, use our planned guide to when a 510(k) is required versus exempt.

Budget the FDA fee separately

FDA fiscal year Period Standard 510(k) fee Qualified small-business fee
FY2026 October 1, 2025–September 30, 2026 $26,067 $6,517
FY2027 October 1, 2026–September 30, 2027 $28,653 $7,163

Small-business pricing is not automatic. The submitter needs an FDA Small Business Decision number for the relevant fiscal year before the submission is received. FDA says it will not refund the difference later if a reduced fee was not properly claimed.

eSTAR, technical screening and the review clock

Most 510(k) submissions have been required to use FDA’s eSTAR template since October 1, 2023. For CDRH, FDA’s current eSTAR page says 510(k) and De Novo submissions must be sent through the CDRH Portal.

FDA says a properly prepared eSTAR is not anticipated to undergo the traditional Refuse to Accept review. It still receives virus scanning and technical screening. An incomplete eSTAR can be placed on hold, and FDA may close it if a complete replacement is not received within 180 days of the technical-screening deficiency notice.

Do not buy a “90 calendar day” guarantee. FDA’s goal is a MDUFA decision within 90 FDA days. Days when the submission is on hold for an Additional Information request are excluded, and preparation before filing is outside that clock.

Ordinary consultant or FDA-recognized third-party reviewer?

An ordinary consultant can help classify the device, plan evidence, draft eSTAR and manage communications. That does not make the firm an FDA-recognized 3P510k Review Organization.

The Third Party Review Program is a voluntary alternative for eligible product codes. The accredited organization performs the primary review using FDA criteria and sends a recommendation to FDA; FDA still makes the final decision. FDA charges no separate 510(k) user fee for this route, but the submitter pays the review organization under a private agreement.

FDA-recognized 3P510k Review Organizations
Beanstock Consulting
Center For Measurement Standards of Industrial
Cola, Inc.
Global Quality and Regulatory Services
Regulatory Technology Services, LLC
Scarlet NB B.V
SMO India
Third Party Review Group, LLC

The list above reflects FDA’s database update of August 17, 2026. Eligibility is limited by product code and by each organization’s recognized scope. Check FDA’s live list before contracting because recognition and eligibility can change.

What every 510(k) quote should state

  1. Pathway and predicate work: classification, product code, regulatory strategy and predicate analysis.
  2. Evidence plan: bench, biocompatibility, electrical safety, software, cybersecurity, usability, sterilization, shelf-life and clinical work, as applicable.
  3. Submission deliverable: eSTAR authorship, attachments, quality review and CDRH Portal upload responsibility.
  4. FDA interactions: official correspondent role, interactive-review support and Additional Information responses.
  5. Money: fixed fee or hourly cap, testing and laboratory charges, FDA user fee, travel, change orders and refund or cancellation terms.
  6. Ownership: the manufacturer or other legal holder should be unmistakably identified. A consultant’s drafting role does not transfer FDA clearance ownership unless a lawful transaction and records support it.

Red flags before you sign

  • “FDA 510(k) approval.” FDA clears a 510(k) after finding substantial equivalence; it does not approve the device through this pathway.
  • Guaranteed clearance or a guaranteed timeline. A consultant cannot control FDA’s decision, evidence gaps or hold time.
  • “FDA-accredited” without a match in FDA’s current 3P510k list.
  • A low headline price with no testing, FDA-response or user-fee boundaries.
  • No device-specific experience check. Ask for recent work involving your product code, technology and evidence type—not a generic clearance count.
  • No written ownership, confidentiality or change-order terms.

If a marketplace triggered the problem

A marketplace document request is different from deciding whether to file a new 510(k). Start with Amazon medical-device 510(k) restrictions or TikTok Shop 510(k) and FURLS requirements before paying someone to create a submission you may not need.

Need to compare evidence and quotes without taking a provider’s marketing at face value? Read how we verify prices, our methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a 510(k) consultant cost?

Most reviewed full-service providers require a quote. Medical Device Academy publicly lists an estimated $17,500 for 510(k) preparation, with Pre-Submission work and the FDA user fee separate. Testing, clinical work and change orders can add substantially more.

How much is the FDA 510(k) user fee?

For FY2026, FDA lists $26,067 standard and $6,517 for a qualified small business. For FY2027, FDA lists $28,653 standard and $7,163 for a qualified small business. The applicable fee depends on the date FDA receives the submission.

Can a 510(k) consultant guarantee FDA clearance?

No. A consultant can improve preparation and manage the process, but FDA decides whether the device is substantially equivalent. Treat any clearance guarantee as a red flag.

Is every 510(k) consultant FDA-accredited?

No. FDA recognition applies only to organizations on its current 3P510k Review Organization list and only within their recognized product-code scope. An experienced ordinary consultant is not automatically an accredited reviewer.

Is eSTAR required for a 510(k)?

Yes for most 510(k)s. FDA has required electronic 510(k) submissions through eSTAR since October 1, 2023, except for limited waivers and exemptions described in its guidance. CDRH 510(k)s are submitted through the CDRH Portal.

When should I use an FDA Pre-Submission?

A voluntary Pre-Submission can be useful when focused FDA feedback would change your testing plan, predicate strategy or submission preparation. FDA says it is not a pre-review and does not guarantee a favorable decision later.

Does FDA decide a 510(k) in 90 calendar days?

Not necessarily. FDA’s goal is a MDUFA decision within 90 FDA days, which excludes days the submission is on hold for an Additional Information request. Preparation time and your response time are outside that FDA-day total.

Sources

  1. FDA — Premarket Notification 510(k)
  2. FDA — Class I and Class II Device Exemptions
  3. FDA — Medical Device User Fee Amendments (MDUFA): Fees
  4. FDA — eSTAR Program
  5. FDA — 510(k) Submission Process
  6. FDA — Q-Submission Program
  7. FDA — 510(k) Third Party Review Program
  8. FDA — Current List of FDA-Recognized 510(k) Third Party Review Organizations
  9. Medical Device Academy — company, scope and published preparation price
  10. Emergo by UL — FDA 510(k) consulting
  11. NAMSA — U.S. FDA consulting
  12. RQM+ — medical-device services
  13. MCRA — global regulatory services

Limitations and disclaimer

This comparison uses public information available on August 24, 2026. A provider’s published scope is not proof that it is right for a particular device, and the absence of a public price is not evidence of a higher or lower quote. FDA fees change by fiscal year; provider scope, staffing and terms can change; and FDA can revise or withdraw third-party recognition. We did not test these services as customers. This page does not guarantee FDA clearance, any timeline or acceptance by a marketplace. It is informational only and is not legal or regulatory advice.